Was It WORTH IT?? – All Our RV Upgrades Review – Solar, Toilet, Booster & More



As full time RVers we’ve made many upgrades to our RV. But which upgrades were worth it and which would we never do again?

☆UPGRADES SHOWN IN VIDEO:
Belift Kit: https://amzn.to/2R1BbnZ
MaxxAir Fan: https://amzn.to/2N79YPC
Composting Toilet: https://amzn.to/2QBJlEH
Rooftop Solar Panels: https://amzn.to/2N7AE2C
Portable Foldout Solar Panel: https://amzn.to/36M2QQB
3000W Inverter/Charger: https://amzn.to/35DYyZY
MPPT Charge Controller: https://amzn.to/3030rhx
Lithium Batteries: https://amzn.to/37FPGEG
Oxygenics Shower Head: https://amzn.to/2T6Paf0
Ikea Gateleg Table: https://amzn.to/35x44NX
Day/Night Roller Shades: http://www.irvineshadeanddoor.com/
RV Lock Keyless Door Handle: https://amzn.to/302QlNE
Storage Door Tumbler Locks: https://amzn.to/304diAe
Cell Signal Booster: https://amzn.to/2N68rZS

☆UPGRADE VIDEOS:
Belift Kit: https://youtu.be/rBWVOLTREGY
MaxxAir Fan: https://youtu.be/2ILEp6XPG1Q
Composting Toilet: https://youtu.be/BUCILKmc96k
Solar & Batteries: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blPafBzIqVs&list=PLX4AHF_XaLMVMQ9cXQIAyWaphJc7Df0lb
Shower Cold Blast Fix: https://youtu.be/T4lge5JLYn0
Dinette Remodel: https://youtu.be/9Tehm-HODy0
Day/Night Roller Shades: https://youtu.be/CifKSPJLf-Q
Front Door & Storage Door Locks: https://youtu.be/xxSCNR_pAhM
Cell Signal Booster: https://youtu.be/ine8zq5lmEg
Micro-Air EasyStart (Forgot to Include in Video): https://youtu.be/cjLzqmUmTcM

☆PATREON SPECIAL ACCESS:
https://www.patreon.com/FateUnbound

☆FATE UNBOUND RECEIVES A SMALL COMMISSION WHEN YOU SHOP THROUGH THIS AMAZON LINK:
https://amzn.to/2UaGUZx

☆TIP JAR:
https://bit.ly/2xi3ANf

☆SHIRTS, SWEATERS, STICKERS, AND MORE:
https://www.fateunbound.com/swag-store/

☆SOCIAL MEDIA:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fateunbound/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FateUnbound/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Fate_Unbound
Check out the rest of our videos: https://www.youtube.com/fateunbound/

☆MORE ON THE WEBSITE:
https://www.fateunbound.com/were-they-worth-it-review-all-rv-upgrades/

☆SPECIAL THANKS to our Patrons who have pledged $5+ at https://www.patreon.com/FateUnbound to help make this video possible!
⭐ Allan & Karen K.
⭐ Allen H.
⭐ Andy U.
⭐ Bill & Cathy O.
⭐ Blue Mountain Bigfoot Research
⭐ Bob K.
⭐ Brad B.
⭐ Bryan A.
⭐ Christopher P.
⭐ Curt E.
⭐ David D.
⭐ Doug S.
⭐ Gary & Janis M.
⭐ Gary & Diane H.
⭐ Greg L.
⭐ James B.
⭐ James G.
⭐ Jeb & Barb B.
⭐ Jeff & Laurie H.
⭐ Jeremy B.
⭐ Jessica S.
⭐ Joanne C.
⭐ John C.
⭐ Joseph H.
⭐ Kathie S.
⭐ Ken & Hariven C.
⭐ Kyle O.
⭐ L John R.
⭐ Larry M.
⭐ Lisa H.
⭐ Lucinda M.
⭐ Lydia Watson
⭐ Mark & Melinda A.
⭐ Mark D.
⭐ Marty C.
⭐ Matthew H.
⭐ Melissa M.
⭐ Mike O.
⭐ Ralph W.
⭐ Randy B.
⭐ Robert F.
⭐ Robert F.
⭐ Robert S.
⭐ Ron & Susan H.
⭐ Ron B.
⭐ Ryan R.
⭐ Schylar B.
⭐ Scott @ Go Small. Live Large!
⭐ Scott & Charlotte R.
⭐ Shaun A.
⭐ Stephany J.
⭐ Stephen C.
⭐ Steve C.
⭐ Steve H.
⭐ Steve T.
⭐ Susan R.
⭐ Tammy M.
⭐ Terri L.

Our little RV has had lots of work done to it in upgrades that make it fit our lifestyle as full time RVers. We’ve made individual videos for each of these upgrades that explain in depth what they are with step-by-step installation instructions and if you’re interested in seeing those videos click this link here.

However, we’ve never made a video that shows all of our upgrades! So we thought it would be helpful to do a quick review of all our upgrades in case you missed one as well as telling how much they each cost, how long they took to install, and weather or not they were worth it.

Thousands of dollars have been spent improving our RV as well as hundreds of hours of hard work. But were these upgrades worth the investment of precious time and money?

☆CAMERA GEAR USED IN THIS VIDEO:
Sony α6000: http://amzn.to/2qYcZIA
Sony Gun/Zoom Microphone: http://amzn.to/2pUKiMD
Gutman Microphone Windscreen: http://amzn.to/2q2zoAg
JOBY GorillaPod: http://amzn.to/2q5mNeX

*Affiliate Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

source

36 thoughts on “Was It WORTH IT?? – All Our RV Upgrades Review – Solar, Toilet, Booster & More

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    I like your door lock … the movement can be fixed (if it was mine it was already fixed). The compartment doors are not secure, I can open them easy with a tube from a pen that fit the circular slot. The electrical system it was too expensive, and I don't know if it worth investing that amount to a lot of solar panels, batteries… Nice video …

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    That IKEA table is probably my favorite piece of IKEA furniture. I LOVE how it folds up.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    I used some outdoor double sided tape to keep my door latch from moving.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    To help with the door lock, try using a shorter screw or cutting this one shorter. If it won’t tighten up anymore and it’s still allowing movement with the lock, the screw is bottoming out. Hope this helps.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    If only all girls who lived in a trailer looked like that ❤

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    You guys really compliment each other. I need to find a Jenny, she's cool. I once had a Jeannie but she was no Jenny. lol

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    I purchased a four-season camper. Do y'all ever see the need for one or do you just run from the cold?

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    ''If you like cold showers there must be something wrong with you''
    1. ROFLMAO
    2. Instant like

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Try making a backer plate for the inside door handle, the door may not be thick enough to allow the screws to tighten down fully, also you may want to put some lock tight thread locker on the screws/bolts so they wont loosen off.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Very smart upgrades. You should submit the suggestions to the manufacturer. Thanks for sharing.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    CH751 – The same key for our walk up kiosks to print registrations.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Think your pretty kitty was using Morse code or SOS with clicking of blinds. Was cute

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Probably could get some hy200 epoxy and put on the inside backplate of the lock . That epoxy is no joke . Just take it off , apply a generous bead on the interior lock backplate , quickly reinstall it real quick . The gun to use will probably cost more than the epoxy . But if you know anyone in construction they may already have it all that you could borrow from them .

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Use some good quality silicone on the front and or back of the lock to door joint. Also use red locktite on the screws if needbe.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Love solar too. Have my "starter kit" in the garage just need to install it in the RV. And they are correct about the cell booster signal loss between the transmitter and the antenna. At those frequencies there is a lot of loss in a coax run, both sending and receiving a signal, so putting the transmitter on the roof is a performance booster.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Hi
    One tube of locktight costs about $5.00 at any automotive store. One or two drops will keep the screws from backing out. And if you use a flat piece of thin rubber inside you it should stop the movement of the lock. It may take a little silicone also. front and back of the rubber.
    Nice video, thanks for all the tips.
    I may be building a tiny home down the road. 🤔

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Great video, thanks for sharing. However, I was surprised not to see the Micro-Air 364 EasyStart that you installed over a year ago included in there.
    Did you not think it was worthy or worth it?

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Hey guys a suggestion on the door lock. 1st if you can get stainless screws. 2nd shorten the screws by a few threads, they might be a little too long not pulling it tight. 3rd use lock tight on the threads, that should keep the screws from backing out. Nuff said, GR8 video, and GR8 useful ideas. …. JeffG

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    How and where do you dispose your waste from your compostable toilet?

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    The RV lock is a great product, UT the screws provided to you are too long. Your door is very thin compared to 5th wheel or pusher RV’s. Either cut the screws or buy shorter ones. The number of times I get home late and “click” the door is open, vs hunt for the keyhole in the dark…. See if you cannot fix the lock. I know you will like it if you get it secure.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    So you now have grey water mixed with black water and you're treating it as grey water even though it's actually black water. That will get you smacked by the authorities.

    I'm amazed your panels cost that much when 100W panels are about $90 each.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    You also might try the golf tee trick: for the keyless entry. Basically you break off and shove the tip of the tee into the existing screw holes. Then remount the lock. The idea is to give the screws something solid to bight into.

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    do you guys need another battery because yer playin too much warhammer on those computrons?

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    With the door lock it might not be tight enough due to the length of the spacers/ screw holes I would check and if that’s the problem then cut cm off if that is the issue then when installing it again I would seal it with a glue

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Anyone know the brand name of the compost toilet

  • May 8, 2020 at 2:49 am
    Permalink

    Great video!! Very informative 😀!! Yes, the kitty scratching at the miniblinds would drive me crazy. I love the shades!!!

Comments are closed.